If you’ve ever received a traffic ticket before, it was most likely for something ordinary like speeding, running a red light or following too closely.
But there are some truly outrageous laws on the books across the country that you probably don’t know about!
There’s a law for that?
J&S Transportation, a car transport company, compiled a state-by-state look at these wacky laws, but it’s worth mentioning that not all of them are upheld to this day.
Here are some of the strangest laws that stood out to us:
- Arizona: Pedestrians are banned from hitting crosswalk buttons just to stop traffic.
- Delaware: You cannot change clothes inside your vehicle.
- Iowa: You cannot use a deceased person’s handicap sign.
- Maine: It is illegal to park in front of Dunkin’ Donuts in one city.
- Michigan: No cars can be sold on Sunday.
- New Mexico: It is illegal for women to pump their own gas.
- West Virginia: If you drive by roadkill, you can take it home for supper.
- Wyoming: You can get a restricted learner’s permit at age 14.
Slow down: These tickets will increase your rates!
While you may not be ticketed for those bizarre laws, a report from InsuranceQuotes.com found that even minor violations can impact your auto insurance premium.
- Speeding by 1 to 15 mph: 21% increase
- Following too closely: 19% increase
- Failure to signal: 19% increase
- Improperly driving in a car pool lane: 18% increase
While those increases might seem high, they’re nothing compared to the increase you’d pay for more serious violations, like driving under the influence.
- DUI/DWI: 94% increase
- Reckless driving: 85% increase
- Speeding by 31 mph or more: 29% increase
- Speeding by 16 to 30 mph: 28% increase
- Careless driving: 27% increase
For insurance companies, this is all about assessing a driver’s risk. Experts say the violations that cause rates to rise the most are strong indicators that the driver could have an accident in the future.
What to do if you get a ticket
Most first-time infractions will have a negative impact on your auto insurance premium for up to five years, but there are a few things you can do to help your cause.
- Ask for forgiveness for minor violations
- Take a defensive driving class
- Make a plea bargain in court
- Enroll in a pay-as-you-drive program
- Shop and compare auto insurance quotes
Read more: Best auto insurance companies